The good news?  Starting July 1, 2012, instead of you looking for employers ready and willing to sponsor, employers will be the ones to check out qualified applicants through Australia's online database of applicants called SkillSelect.  To be considered you must submit or "express" your intention to migrate through any one or more categories in the following visa programs:


 Independent Skilled Migration

  • State or Territory Sponsored Skilled Migration
  • Family Sponsored Skilled Migration
  • Business Skills.

You can also express interest in the following visa programs on your EOI to be selected by an employer.

  • Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS)
  • Regional Sponsored Scheme (RSMS)
  • Temporary Business (Long Stay), subclass 457 program.

You can express interest in a range of skilled migration programs in one EOI.

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship explains that the SkillSelect program is still a work in progress. For example, "new skilled visa subclasses will be introduced on 1 July 2012 and more information about these visa subclasses will become available in April 2012."

Why has Australia changed its method of selecting prospective economic migrants?

"SkillSelect will ensure the skilled migration program is based on the economic needs of Australia." The Australian Government will be able to manage who is able to apply for skilled migration, when they are able to apply and in what numbers, on the basis of this need.

As a result, the Department of Immigration and Citizenship expects to significantly reduce the time taken to process a visa application and improve the settlement and employment prospects of its skilled migrants.

SkillSelect will also help address regional skill shortages. SkillSelect allows intending migrants to indicate they are willing to live and work in regional Australia. This will be of particular benefit to employers experiencing regional skill shortages and state and territory governments attempting to settle migrants in regional Australia.

Prior to submitting your EOI, you must have your occupation assessed by the specific assessing authority and must have passed a languate proficiency test.

DIAC says that "if you lodged a visa application prior to 1 July 2012, it will be processed according to the priority processing direction in effect at the time your visa application is processed.

Stay tuned.  In the meantime to determine your eligibility to apply as a Skilled Migrant to Australia, Canada, NZ, the UK or the USA, send your complete and updated resume to


Got a question? Let us know - we're here to help.

About the Author

Crispin Aranda

Crispin Aranda

Crispin R. Aranda is an established International Visa Conselor and Immigrant Advocate. He is the president of IVC and is in several migration radio programs.

IVC and IVC staff are proud members or affiliates of

ICCRC logoIBP logoICEF logoPIER logo
MARA logoCANCHAM logoANZCHAM logoBritish Council logo