Desiring to have the brightest talents and skilled migrants it needs while maintaining the integrity of its skilled migration program, Australia continues to fine-tune its selection system: prioritizing processing for specific groups; identifying the specific skill sets needed and consolidating its residency and temporary work program through SkillSelect.

Highlights of the most recent changes:

TSS Key reforms include:

Employment-sponsorship for Permanent Skilled Visas has been updated:

Job offers and employment in Regional Australia provide faster processing:

Employers in regional Australia will continue to have access to occupations under the temporary and permanent visas, to reflect their skills needs.

Existing permanent visa concessions for regional Australia, such as waiving the nomination fee and providing age exemptions for certain occupations, will be retained. Consideration will be given to expanding the occupations in regional Australia that are exempt from the age requirement.

Who can apply for what visa? List of eligible skilled occupations

As part of the changes of the lists of occupations eligible for skilled migration or temporary work, Australia also identified which list to use to apply for a particular visa program: permanent or temporary.

The previous list Skilled Occupations List (SOL) posted as Schedule 1 has been replaced by the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL).

The other list Consolidated Skilled Occupations List published as Schedule 2 has been abolished as well and replaced by the Short Term Skilled Occupations List (STSOL).

For ease of reference, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) combined both lists simply called the List of Eligible Occupations (LEO)

Which list to use if applying for a specific visa

The Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) should be consulted for skilled migrants intending to apply for any of visa/subclass below:

The Combined List of Eligible Occupations (LEO) should be used as reference if a skilled migrant intends to apply for any of the visa/subclass below:

If you already hold a subclass 457 visa, you will not be impacted by these removed occupations unless you apply for a further subclass 457 visa or are changing your occupation or employer.

SkillSelect remains the selection system.

Subclass categlories not requiring a job offer

Basic requirements for Subclass 189 (Skilled Independent- when invited after submitting the SkillSelect Expression of Interest):

Subclass 190 (State or Territory Nominated) basic requirements:

You are eligible to apply for this visa if you have been invited. At the time we invite you to apply for this visa, you must also have:

Do you want to know if you qualify for skilled immigration to Australia?

Send us your resume and wait for 5 to 7 working days for the result!

About the Author

Crispin Aranda

Crispin Aranda

Crispin R. Aranda is an established International Visa Conselor and Immigrant Advocate. He is the president of IVC and is in several migration radio programs.

IVC and IVC staff are proud members or affiliates of

ICCRC logoIBP logoICEF logoPIER logo
MARA logoCANCHAM logoANZCHAM logoBritish Council logo