On September 13, 2015 (EU time), Germany announced it is closing its border with Austria in an apparent response to the continuing rush of migrants to Europe.  The announcement came as the Schengen agreement marks its 30th anniversary.

The Schengen agreement was signed on June 14, 1985, enabling the border free travel within the member states.  The original signatories of this Agreement were Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. It was integrated into the legal framework of the EU with the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1999.

Of the current 26 members of the Schengen area Germany shares borders with Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, France, Belgium and the Netherlands..

The other Schengen states - Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Liechtenstein may be indirectly affected should the Schengen agreement be sidelined.

It remains unclear on how Germany will treat Schengen visa holders at the border seeking to enter Germany as part of their visa itinerary.

The story from the UK Guardian is here- http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/13/germany-border-crackdown-deals-blow-to-schengen-system

Got a question? Let us know - we're here to help.

About the Author

Crispin Aranda

Crispin Aranda

Crispin R. Aranda is an established International Visa Conselor and Immigrant Advocate. He is the president of IVC and is in several migration radio programs.

IVC and IVC staff are proud members or affiliates of

ICCRC logoIBP logoICEF logoPIER logo
MARA logoCANCHAM logoANZCHAM logoBritish Council logo