Connect with us

Canada Publishes New Priority Occupations List

As previously published here, the list of Canada's priority occupations eligible for priority processing as permanent residents will be out July 1, 2011. It is now available.

Share this article
Canada Publishes New Priority Occupations List
Posted on July 1, 2011

Also as Minister Jason Kenny announced a need to "keep putting reasonable limits on new applications, backlog and wait times will grow."  In keeping with this Ministerial statement, Citienship and Immigration Canada said only 10,000 applications will be accepted and set a 500 limit per occupation. The good news are: 1) the priority list remains the same and 2) the eligibility criteria based on age, education, experience, English proficiency and adaptability points remain the same. And the passmark is still 67.

On June 2010, after identifying the occupations that fit Canada’s labour market needs, “the government released an updated list of 29 priority occupations and introduced a global cap of 20,000 for federal skilled workers, as well as a sub-cap of 1,000 under each occupation”

Until close to end of June this year, Citizenship and Immigration Canada” has received approximately 13,800 federal skilled worker applications under the priority occupations list”.  The 20,000 quota was not reached.

Some observers note that the rationale for reducing the yearly quota of 20,000 does not tally with the fact that the 20,000 quota was not reached and therefore there should be no backlog.  In fact in a number of occupations, approved applications never reached 100.  The new list as published by Citizenship and Immigration Canada is shown below:

For your application to be eligible for processing, you must include the results of your official language proficiency test, and either:

  • have a valid offer of arranged employment, OR
  • be a skilled worker who has had one year of continuous full-time or equivalent part-time paid work experience in at least one of the following eligible occupations within the last ten years:
    • 0631 Restaurant and Food Service Managers
    • 0811 Primary Production Managers (Except Agriculture)
    • 1122 Professional Occupations in Business Services to Management
    • 1233 Insurance Adjusters and Claims Examiners
    • 2121 Biologists and Related Scientists
    • 2151 Architects
    • 3111 Specialist Physicians
    • 3112 General Practitioners and Family Physicians
    • 3113 Dentists
    • 3131 Pharmacists
    • 3142 Physiotherapists
    • 3152 Registered Nurses
    • 3215 Medical Radiation Technologists
    • 3222 Dental Hygienists & Dental Therapists
    • 3233 Licensed Practical Nurses
    • 4151 Psychologists
    • 4152 Social Workers
    • 6241 Chefs
    • 6242 Cooks
    • 7215 Contractors and Supervisors, Carpentry Trades
    • 7216 Contractors and Supervisors, Mechanic Trades
    • 7241 Electricians (Except Industrial & Power System)
    • 7242 Industrial Electricians
    • 7251 Plumbers
    • 7265 Welders & Related Machine Operators
    • 7312 Heavy-Duty Equipment Mechanics
    • 7371 Crane Operators
    • 7372 Drillers & Blasters - Surface Mining, Quarrying & Construction
    • 8222 Supervisors, Oil and Gas Drilling and Service

These occupations belong to either Skill Type O (managerial occupations) or Skill Level A (professional occupations) or B (technical occupations and skilled trades) on Canada's National Occupational Classification (NOC) list.

If you aren't sure if you should apply as a skilled worker, use our free Online Assessment to get a Customer Servce Representative to contact you.

Got a question? Let us know - we're here to help.

Send us your migration concern

Other countries

Email and phone
Phone only
Social Media - please specify website (ex: Facebook, Google Plus, etc.) and account name

We need to make sure that you're human. What is 7 plus 3?

ICEF logoPIER logoANZCHAM logoBritish Council logo